Cooperative Institute for Alaska Research

The Cooperative Institute for Alaska Research (CIFAR) is one of 16 National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Cooperative Institutes. CIFAR facilitates the long-term collaboration between NOAA and the University of Alaska begun under the Cooperative Institute for Arctic Research (1994–2008), within which targeted research, technology, education and outreach can be developed and sustained. CIFAR plays a central role in communication and coordination between NOAA, researchers, management agencies, non-governmental organizations, Alaska communities, and the general public in collaborative research, education and outreach efforts.